Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Anahata, The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra

Love is the most important thing in the world. Love is what keeps families united. Love gives a person self esteem and a sense of security. Love unites the male and female and can encompass whole nations and the whole world; what we call universal love.

The Heart Chakra rules over our emotional life. It is situated in the center of the chest and it is the 4:th chakra. When it is balanced, love flows freely. When it is closed, no love energy emanates.

The sanskrit name for the Heart Chakra is Anahata, meaning unstruck, unhurt, unbeaten. Anahata is traditionally illustrated by a 12 petal lotus. It's planet is Venus. The element is Air. Air is almost anywhere and is a vital element. Air is available to us through breading. Once in the body, the oxygen is carried by the blood everywhere in the body.

As you see, the heart chakra is associated with both the colors green and red. It's because too much green leads to feelings of possessiveness and jealousy. Red is believed to balance that.

In order to balance the heart chakra easily, one needs to concentrate it's mind on the heart chakra. Using or looking at the green and red shades or wearing them with a red ruby is also believed to balance the heart chakra. Some also believe that eating red and green food also has a positive effect on the heart chakra. It is important that one finds it's own way to balance it. In my case, I use sounds, and color when I create. Painting  red hearts and use your creativity can also balance the heart chakra.

Balancing the Heart Chakra is very important because one has the chance to get rid of the negative feelings. Hate is replaced by love; Fear is replaced by a sense of security; Loneliness is replaced by a sense of belonging; Selfishness by compassion; and so on.

Worth reading:

Popular Posts